Michael McIntyre and Me.

by B Thornton- Harwood

Michael McIntyre holds the record for most number of DVD sales by a British stand up comedian ever, with over one million copies of Hello Wembley sold. He is also the youngest person to ever host the Royal variety Performance and in 2010 won the British comedy award for Best Male TV comic.

So what exactly am I missing? Because I can’t stand the bloke.

From what I can gather he appeared on Live at the Apollo about 5 years ago and has risen to the top of the comedy ladder unfathomably fast simply by being a bit chubby, putting on stupid voices and skipping around the stage.

And it seems I’m not the only one that whose funny bones are not tickled by this bellend. I asked my 128 Twitter followers and 663 Facebook “friends” who their favourite comedians were, and only one person came back saying that they liked him.

From this overly scientific survey I can conclude that almost none of my peers enjoy his material, rather the majority of them enjoyed acts that regularly grace the face of satirical prime time comedy programmes, such as Sean Locke, Lee Mack, Milton Jones and Mickey Flanagan.

All of the above perform observational comedy much like McIntyre does and yet they don’t make me want to push a white hot poker into my eyes.

In the same sense McIntyre has a five minute speech about his son mispronouncing “juice” this is hardly comedy gold, it’s too strung out and gags coming from what a baby says are never going to be funny, [see Meet the Fockers]. And yet the Two Ronnies Fork handles sketch still had me in fits of laughter whilst researching for this piece and is what I would consider timeless British comedy.

So perhaps it’s the way in which he delivers his material then; I find the whole bouncing around stage like a dildo on superdrive quite tedious, it is for this same reason Lee Evans grates on me, but I give him the benefit of the doubt as I too have a problem with sweating, but Peter Kaye and his impressions of kids at a wedding and of a Hob Nob being dunked in tea have me bent double.

The fact that a mere 14 seconds after appearing on BBC 1 he was presenting his own show, was a guest on Wossy, was a panellist on Mock the Week, Buzzcocks, 8 out of 10 Cats, you name it, his face was all over it is not helping Michael’s case. And the same is true of James Corden, his over exposure was what drove me to distraction after writing what I think was the hugely overrated Gavin and Stacey.

Another programme I believe to be overrated is The Inbetweeners. Now, before you lynch me from the Guildhall clocktower- hear me out.

 The Inbetweeners has a fantastic premise:  4 social outcasts of the common room, people of our generation can relate to. It is, however, the incessant repeating of gags like “Bus wanker” or “fweeeends” that really gets on my tits, especially when the programme could’ve been genius if written by the write people.

I guess it all boils down to my belief that the above jokes are brainless. They require no thought. Not that I’m completely against dumb humour- given the right social situation Harold and Kumar is my favourite film in the world, but it’s never going to make my desert island DVD list; there is a time and a place for dense humour and the oversaturation of it must stop if we want to keep alive the great comic nation that has spawned Python, Gervais and Merchant and the Two Ronnies.

@benjth11

